Who Should I Travel With?

‘Tis the season for spring break! I recently traveled to Texas (which is beautiful, by the way) on my spring break with my roommates Kayla, Jenna and Amy. I had a lot of time on the drive down to think about what my next blog post should be about (20 hours to be exact). In that time, I decided to write about the traits I think are important to consider when deciding on who to travel with. This is what I came up with:

  • People who are flexible. Why would I put flexible as the first point? It is first because planes get delayed. Or your tire gets flat. Or you lose your wallet. Flexible people take things as they come, find a solution to the problem and don’t let it ruin their day. While you’re at it, make sure that you are being flexible for your co-travelers too.

giphy

  • People who have interests similar to yours. This is an important tip to remember because it will make choosing sites to visit a lot easier. Generally, you travel with people you like (friends or family), but even so, there can be major personality differences that could lead to a very stressful trip. For example, having someone who loves shopping and indoors planning a trip with someone who is an avid hiker might be a little tricky. You’ll want to plan ahead on what you’re going to do on your trip and how you’ll approach conflict.
  • People who are (mostly) organized. This won’t make or break your trip, but it does help if your traveling companion(s) is organized. It will save you a lot of time (eliminating “Oh, turn around! I forgot something” or “Oh, we were supposed to start boarding our plane 10 minutes ago” moments). Making lists are a great way to stay organized!

giphy

What do you think are important things to consider when deciding on who to travel with? Feel free to leave a comment!

Get out there and explore.

One thought on “Who Should I Travel With?

Leave a Reply

